Not something I was going to write about, but I don’t see how I can pass up a post on “Rust”!

From the Oil Drum: “The Cost of Corrosion”.

At $2 trillion per year (the earlier rough estimate for the current cost of corrosion) it would take fifty years to rebuild 100 trillion dollars of infrastructure (across all industries). Since much of our infrastructure is 20, 50 or even 100 years old, renewing it over a period of half a century seems reasonable.

On the other hand, it could be reasonably argued that the condition of our infrastructure is getting worse on average and that the rate of spending needs to increase. But there is a limit to how much a $60 trillion world economy can spend on renewing infrastructure…

Whatever the actual cost is, engineers everywhere have plenty of work ahead; managing ageing infrastructure and delivering new projects, while meeting sustainability challenges and protecting scarce resources…

Should I link to “Hey hey, my my”? Nah, that would be too easy… oh, what the heck. Can I still use it later?

“There’s more to the picture
Than meets the eye…

It’s better to burn out than it is to rust.
The king is gone but he’s not forgotten…”

